CGTExpo 2011 Inaguration

CGTExpo was a success in its 4th consecutive year after it was started in 2008 by CG Tantra - the best online debate platform for the aspirants and professionals of the industry. The 2 day event was organized at the Nehru Center in Worli – Mumbai on 28th and 29th May, 2011. The event was jointly inaugurated by Biren Ghose of Technicolor India and Laura Dohrmann of AJA Video Systems.

CGTExpo is India’s first computer graphics technology and career Guidance exhibition on animation, visual effects and gaming. The event is organized with a mission to provide an insight into a career in Animation, VFX and Gaming along with providing a stage for the professionals, studios and students population to come in close association with each other. The event was organized in association with DSK Supifocom International Campus, Technicolor India, DreamWorks and Moving Pictures Company. Other associates included Adobe, AJA Video Systems, FX School, Frameboxx, ASUS and BIG AIMS.

With a footfall of around 4000 attendees, the Event was a centre stage for computer graphics community to exchange their thoughts and enhance their learning by attending exhibition fair, job fair, technology fair, education fair, conferences and seminars all aiming at uniting the CG Community. The live competitions, activities, art gallery, gaming and entertainment made the event more competitive, lively and fun filled. The event witnessed attendees and speakers flying from across the borders.


Some of the eminent personalities of the animation and vfx industry conducted seminars to impart knowledge about the animation production workflow in making an animated movie or tele series. The MPC Team comprising of Nicholas Aithadi, Suresh Hari and Jigesh Gajjar showcased Harry Potter. Veteran VFX Gurus like Yunus Bukhari of Geon Studios and Prashant Nair of MPC talked about tracing back the pixels in VFX.  Jateen Thakkar of Rhythm & Hues talked about Yogi Bear. Delna Dhamodiwala of Prime Focus India, Rajdeep P Dandekar of R&H and Mr. Clark Harding of Technicolor discussed about The Art of Rotoscopy & career benefits. Srinivas Mohan of Indian artist computer graphics Pvt Ltd held a seminar on making of ROBOT.


The workshops in the Expo were conducted by the eminent leaders like Mahee Pal of Narrative Visuals, Soumyadip C of Eye Qube studios, Siju Thomas of Technicolor India, Yiannis Koumoutzelis of Trine Entertainment Ltd and Satish Goda of Rhythm & Hues Studios who came along with the knowledge about the technological development and shared them with the aspirants struggling to build career in the animation and VFX industry. It was a great platform for the pollination between students, professionals and studios community.

Education Fairs

The education fair organized at the event help to bring the education institutes close to the practical realities of the animation and VFX industry. Eminent personalities like Mehul Hirani of Crest Animation studios, Puja Parikh of MPC, P. Satyajeet of DSK Supinfocom, C B Arunkumar of FX School and Anand Gurnani of Animation express came in close association with professionals of the industry and other leading education institutes like MAAC, Whistling Woods and Graphitti School of Animation to give a clear idea about the requirements of the industry that can be achieved by implementing changes in the modules designed by the animation schools.

Job Fairs

The job fair at the Expo showcased companies like Technicolor India, DreamWorks Animation’s dedicated unit, MPC and Lucas film Ltd which were looking for resources for some of the key positions in the organization. Job fair turned good for the fresh graduates looking for a break in the animation and VFX industry.

CG Tantra Community Awards 2011

The CG Tantra awards recognized and honored the best of the work done in the field of animation, vfx and gaming in the year 2010. Some of the stars at the CCA night were

Winner of 3D modeling award - Ritesh K.

Winner of ArrtWar 6 Award - The Sensationals | WEBEL DQE Animation Academy-Kolkata

Winner of VFX War 3 Awards - Thomas Bevan, Harsh Mistry, Esdras Prudente

Winner of Digital Matte Painter - Christian Hecker

Winner of Digital Painting/Concept Artist - Aravind Jayaram

Winner of Best Character Modeling/Sculpting Artist - Sandeep Saini

Winner of Best Game Artist - Ketan patil

Winner of Best Architectural Visual - Sunil D. Parkar

Winner of Best Animation Artist - Arijit Gupta

Winner of Showreel CG/VFX - Prathap Magant

Winner of Live Action/VFX - Sathish Narayanan's Team | Khalish by Big Aims

Winner of Animation Short Film-Student - Paranoia by Sandeepan Chanda

Winner of Animated TVC/Short Film – Studio/Professional -Don't touch me by Eyeqube Studio PVT.LTD.

Winner of Experimental Animation Short Film - ' Unni ' by NID

Winner of VFX in TVC - Prime Focus

Winner of VFX in Feature Film - Indian artist computer graphics Pvt Ltd.

CGTantrik of the Year - Sutapa Karmakar and Arun Nagar

Babu Bhai Mistry Award of Excellence - Srinivas Mohan

Best Technology of the Year - Adobe CS5

Special Jury Award - Night Mare